Kitchen Matters

She chops the cloves

she will not eat,

Head bent, hand clenched

around the knife.

Slice slice slice – pause –

Slide, dice, pile – neat,

Blade scrapes garlic

to iron pan.

Oil sizzles pops jumps –

Tiny burns

on slender arms.

Return to chopping,

Ignore the heat!

On to peppers,

Orange and green,

plump onions,

tearful violet red.

Her blurry eyes,

quick forearm motion:

up down up down

to break the skins.

Ignore the tears,

brought not by onions.

And numb the burns

Of anger still.

Making mindless

Kitchen matter

For naked lover

on the couch.

For all her chopping,

Slicing stillness,

She cannot break

His hardened skin.

About Katie Rose Summerfield

I love the taste and smell and touch of a thunderstorm and the tingly feeling I sometimes get on my tongue when I bite into an under-ripe strawberry.

One comment

  1. Recipe Chefs

    I love food, and I really enjoy reading your blog very much thank you for sharing this post. Feel free to check out our recipes.

    Delicious Coffee Rolls

Leave a comment